UPDATE: U2 Readies Live Album For Fan Club Release

Update U2 Readies Live Album

While fans await the release of U2's new studio effort, the band plans to serve up a live album, 'Hasta La Vista Baby (Live In Mexico City)' that will be sent out to subscribers of 'Propaganda,' the group's official fan magazine.

According to the band's U.K. handlers, the CD will feature some 14 tracks recorded during a show on December 3, 1997, as part of U2's 'PopMart' tour. A filmed version of the same concert was issued on home video in 1998 as 'U2: PopMart.'

Although the live U2 record has caught some of the band's American reps unaware, 'Propaganda' readers have been expecting the release of the 'Hasta La Vista Baby' for some time, as news of the album was first published in an issue of the magazine sent out last fall.

The 'Live In Mexico City' limited-edition disc will be mailed out along with the new issue of 'Propaganda' in the next few weeks. The album will also be made available to new subscribers, and information about signing up for the

magazine is available at www.u2propaganda.com .

The new U2 record is tentatively set for an October or November release in America, and the band has set up a Webcam in its Dublin studio so that fans can tune in to www.u2.com and witness the group finishing up the album with producers Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno.

The full set list from the December 3, 1997, U2 concert in Mexico City, with (*) denoting songs set to appear on the 'Hasta La Vista Baby' promo album:

  • 'Popmuzik' (*)
  • 'Mofo' (*)
  • 'I Will Follow' (*)
  • 'Gone' (*)
  • 'Even Better Than The Real Thing'
  • 'Last Night On Earth'
  • 'End Of The World'
  • 'New Year's Day' (*)
  • 'Pride'
  • 'I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For'
  • 'All I Want Is You'
  • 'Desire'
  • 'Staring At The Sun' (*)
  • 'Sunday Bloody Sunday'
  • 'Bullet The Blue Sky' (*)
  • 'Please'


  • 'Where The Streets Have No Name' (*)
  • 'Lemon' (*)
  • 'Discotheque' (*)
  • 'If You Wear That Velvet Dress'
  • 'With Or Without You' (*)
  • 'Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me' (*)
  • 'Mysterious Ways'
  • 'One' (*)
  • 'Wake Up Dead Man'